Low-Sodium Rotisserie Chicken Noodle Soup “Kid Friendly”

fullsizeoutput_240
Low-Sodium Rotisserie Chicken Soup

Hello my dear readers, moms, wives and friends. Today I made this delicious Rotisserie Chicken Soup, funny story how it came about. Of course, all good homemade recipes have some kind of story that comes along with it, right? That’s what makes it homemade. The memory behind the meal. Well, for staters, my family doesn’t like leftovers so I had the task of disguising yesterdays chicken as a new meal. haha..

With the rain outside, I decided to make a soup. When I cook my meals I tend to think about the occasion or the reaction my family will have when they get home. The kids will be starving coming from school, and kinda sleepy. My husband will just be happy to smell something cooking after his long day at work.

Therefore, my motive behind the soup was “cozy goodness.” My son and I love grill cheese sandwiches so I paired ours with half of one. the funny part is the soup did not call for cabbage. Usually onions and celery, but when my kids said, “add some cabbage” this recipe became theirs. Now, its time to get cooking. If you’re like me the hours between dropping the kids and picking the kids off comes fast. Let’s Cook Ladies!!

*Note: The salt level in this recipe was perfect for my family. By all means if it is not enough for you then jazz it up. The best part about it is you can always make something your own.*

fullsizeoutput_23c
Ingredients

Ingredients:

1 left over Rotisserie chicken (mainly bones)

1/2 Rotisserie Chicken

1/2 or a little over package of Egg White Noodles, depending how big your family is

1/2 Yellow Onion (diced)

3 whole carrot sticks (sliced)

1/2 head of Cabbage (sliced)

2-¼ tsp of salt

2-¼ tsp of black pepper

3 TBS Olive Oil

 

Steps:

On medium to high heat, boil the rotisserie chicken leftovers/bones for homemade stock. Boil for about 1 hour. The water from the stock will be absorbed by the noodles, so no need to pre-boil the noodles.

fullsizeoutput_23b
Put enough water to cover the chicken entirely and to cook the noodles. You will lose some water from the cooking.

In a separate cast iron frying pan, sauté vegetables with olive oil until onions are tender. I used 3 TBS of olive oil adding a TBS at a time as needed. Next add cabbage and cook until tender, but not soft. Add 1/4 salt and ¼ pepper. Add carrots last to assure they stay firm. After vegetables appear tender set aside.

 

Remove chicken from the pot and pull off remaining meat and toss it back in the pot. Anything that looks good on the chicken, we used for stock, can be put back in the soup. Discard that chicken, its done! #file13

Third, cut half of the second rotisserie chicken and put it in the pot as well. The other half we will turn into a rotisserie chicken salad for our husbands (future blog post).

fullsizeoutput_244

 

Add the vegetables that were set aside.

fullsizeoutput_242
Stir Fried Vegetables in a cast iron pan, the cast iron puts a nice sear on the vegetables.

 

Lastly, add noodles. Add another 1/4 salt and 1/4 black pepper. This is a point where you can taste the broth the assure it is well seasoned to your liking.  Turn the fire to low heat or medium to low if you are cooking on an electric stove. Cover and let simmer. I cooked my noodles with the ingredients for about 12 minutes. The noodles absorbed most of the water over time. So, be careful not to overcook. 12-15 is all you need from this point on. Once the noodles are tender remove from the fire and allow soup to sit until you are ready to serve.

It was about lunch time for me, so I grabbed my favorite Paula Dean Cookbook and made myself a bowl of this “cozy goodness.” I found my self saying..Umm..Umm..good. Sorry Campbells it’s not about you today. The spin on this recipe was the cabbage. My kids were the ones that said “Mom, put some cabbage in there.” Anytime they request a vegetable I’m happy!!

IMG_0789
Finished and delicious!

Feel free to head on over to the next blog post where I dive into dessert! Peanut Bars are a favorite in my house! If you remake the recipe, I would love to hear from you! It’s one thing when your family enjoys your cooking, but when someone else can make wonderful memories with it, its a blessings…

Funny ending story… I know, I know, your ready for that soup. But my kids passed out sleep soon after they ate it..lol Want some peace and quiet cook some ‘cozy chicken soup!” 

Rosalyn,

The Happy House Wife

 

 

 

By:

Posted in:


2 responses to “Low-Sodium Rotisserie Chicken Noodle Soup “Kid Friendly””

Leave a comment